Historic Preservation Office Staff Roster

  July 23, 2014

Raleigh Office
919-807-6570 (Auto Attendant), Fax  919-807-6599
Physical address: 109 E. Jones St., Raleigh NC 27601 (second floor, east side, of the Cultural Resources Building)
Mailing address:  4617 Mail Service Center, Raleigh NC 27699-4617
Fed Ex/UPS address: 109 E. Jones St., Raleigh NC 27601.

Please see Visitation Policy for using files and maps at the State Historic Preservation Office


Ramona Bartos, Administrator and Deputy State Historic Preservation Officer  ramona.bartos@ncdcr.gov  919-807-6583

Michele Patterson-McCabe, Grants Coordinator michele.patterson.mccabe@ncdcr.gov  919-807-6582.
-Coordinates federal Historic Preservation Fund grants and other preservation grants as they are available. 

Preservation Commission Services/CLG Coordinator: Vacant. For information, contact Ramona Bartos listed above.
-Advises local governments in the establishment and operation of historic preservation commissions, coordinates the Certified Local Government program.

Environmental Review Branch
-Coordinates review of federal and state undertakings to asess their potential effects on historic properties and districts. 

Renee Gledhill-Earley, Environmental Review Coordinator renee.gledhill-earley@ncdcr.gov 919-807-6579
Amber Kidd, Environmental Review Specialist: amber.kidd@ncdcr.gov 919-807-6581
Renee Shearin, Environmental Review Technician renee.shearin@ncdcr.gov  919-807-6584

Survey and National Register Branch  Link to branch web page and county assignments map
-Administers the
statewide architectural survey and the National Register of Historic Places program for historic structures. Maintains a geographic information system for historic properties, including HPOWEB, an online map service.

Claudia BrownBranch Supervisor and Architectural Survey Coordinator claudia.brown@ncdcr.gov  919-807-6573
Ann Swallow, National Register Coordinator ann.swallow@ncdcr.gov  919-807-6587
Jessica Dockery, National Register and Survey Specialist jessica.dockery@ncdcr.gov 919-807-6577
Jannette Coleridge-Taylor, National Register Assistant jannette.coleridge-taylor@ncdcr.gov  919-807-6576
Chandrea Burch, Technical Assistantchandrea.burch@ncdcr.gov  919-807-7286
Anna Grantham, Technical Assistant, anna.grantham@ncdcr.gov 919-807-7287
Bill Garrett, Photographer, bill.garrett@ncdcr.gov  919-807-7341
Michael Southern, Senior Architectural Historian and GIS Coordinator  michael.southern@ncdcr.gov 919-807-6586
Andrew Edmonds, GIS Technical Support Analyst  andrew.edmonds@ncdcr.gov  919-807-6592

Restoration Services Branch  Link to branch web page and county assignments map
-Provides technical restoration assistance to public and private owners of historic properties and assists owners seeking federal and state historic preservation investment tax credits.

Mitch Wilds, Branch Supervisor mitch.wilds@ncdcr.gov  919-807-6588
Tim Simmons, Senior Preservation Architect and Federal Rehabilitation Tax Credit Coordinator, Americans with Disabilities Act Review Coordinator) tim.simmons@ncdcr.gov  919-807-6585
David Christenbury, Preservation Architect and State Rehabilitation Tax Credit Coordinator david.christenbury@ncdcr.gov  919-807-6574
Paul Fomberg, Senior Restoration Specialist paul.fomberg@ncdcr.gov  919-807-6578
Jeff Adolphsen, Restoration Specialist jeff.adolphsen@ncdcr.gov  919-807-6572
Mandy Bullman, Processing Assistant amanda.bullman@ncdcr.gov  919-807-6590

Eastern Office  252-830-6580 |  Fax  252-830-6583
Office location and mailing address: 117 West Fifth Street, Greenville NC 27858  

Scott Power, Regional Supervisor/Preservation Specialist scott.power@ncdcr.gov  252-830-6580 x 226
Reid Thomas, Restoration Specialist reid.thomas@ncdcr.gov  252-830-6580 x 222
John Wood, Restoration Specialist john.p.wood@ncdcr.gov  252-830-6580 x 225
Stan Little, Administrative Assistant  stan.little@ncdcr.gov  252-830-6580 x 221

Western Office   Link to office web page  828-296-7230 |  Fax  828/298-4551
Office location and mailing address: 176 Riceville Road, Asheville NC 28805

Annie McDonald, Preservation Specialist  annie.mcdonald@ncdcr.gov  828-296-7230 x 223
Jennifer Cathey, Restoration Specialist jennifer.cathey@ncdcr.gov  828-296-7230 x 227

Other Administrators
Mailing address: 4610 Mail Service Center, Raleigh NC 27699-4610

Dr. Kevin Cherry, Deputy Secretary of the Department of Cultural Resources for the Office of Archives and History, and State Historic Preservation Officer, kevin.cherry@ncdcr.gov, 919-807-7279.

Office of State Archaeology

The Office of State Archaeology (OSA) is a separate section within the Division of Historical Resources, N.C. Office of Archives and History. For staff contacts and other information, visit OSA at http://www.archaeology.ncdcr.gov . Offices are located in Archives/State Library Building at 109 E. Jones Street, Raleigh 27601. Mailing address:  4619 Mail Service Center, Raleigh NC 27699-4619.

The Underwater Archaeology Laboratory at Kure Beach is a branch of OSA. (tel. 910-458-9042; fax 910-458-4093). Mailing address: P.O. Box 58, Kure Beach, NC 28449

N.C. State Historic Preservation Office Home Page
Office of Archives and History Home Page